State Laws


Geek-Out!

Which state/district laws apply?

Use the chart below to determine whether you must comply with the state/district laws covered on ComplianceDashboard.

To add a state/district law to your Dashboard, contact your adviser, broker or ComplianceDashboard account manager.

State/District Laws
Who Must Comply
California (CA)
CA MEC Information Reporting Employers that offer health coverage through a self-insured plan to California residents.
CA Paid Family Leave Employers that employ workers who are eligible for State Disability Insurance (SDI).Text-TooltipOr have had SDI payroll deductions withheld
San Francisco (SF)
SF Health Care Security Ordinance Q1 – Q4 Employers that meet three conditions specified in the ordinance.
Colorado (CO)
Colorado FAMLI Q1 – Q4 Private-sector employers with employees working in Colorado (regardless of employer location or employee residence).Text-TooltipLocal government employers have the option of participating in FAMLI or completing a process to opt-out of the program
Connecticut (CT)
Connecticut Paid Leave Q1 – Q4 Employers with one or more employees working in Connecticut.Text-TooltipExemptions are available – see page 17 of the Employer Toolkit
Florida (FL)
Dependent Coverage to Age 30 Employers sponsoring fully insured plans in Florida that offer dependent coverage.Text-TooltipDependents must meet eligibility requirements to extend coverage
Hawaii (HI)
Hawaii Prepaid Health Care Act Employers must offer coverage to eligible employees who work 20 or more hours per week and earn a monthly wage of at least 86.67 times the Hawaii minimum hourly wage.Text-TooltipFor example: $10.10 x 86.67 = $875
Illinois (IL)
Consumer Coverage Disclosure Any employer (private or governmental) who provides group health insurance coverage (fully insured or self-insured) to employeesTooltip“Employee” is defined as any individual permitted to work by an employer in Illinois.
Massachusetts (MA)
MA Health Insurance Responsibility Disclosure Employers who have (or had) six or more employees in Massachusetts in any month during the past 12 months preceding the due date of the HIRD form (December 15th of the reporting year).
MA Individual Mandate Self-Insured employers who provide minimum creditable coverage to Massachusetts residents.
MA Employer Medical Assistance Contribution Q1 – Q4 Massachusetts employersText-TooltipIncluding not-for-profit employers with 6 or more employees working in Massachusetts.
MA Paid Family Leave Q1 – Q4 Employers with employees whose wages are reported to the MA Dept. of Unemployment Assistance (DUA) or who hired Massachusetts 1099-Misc contractors to perform services.
Nebraska (NE)
Dependent Coverage to Age 29 Employers sponsoring fully insured plans in Nebraska that offer dependent coverage.Text-TooltipDependents must meet eligibility requirements to extend coverage
New Jersey (NJ)
NJ Family Leave Insurance Q1 – Q4 Private and governmental employers with employees subject to the New Jersey Unemployment Compensation Law.
NJ Shared Responsibility Self-Insured employers who employ a New Jersey resident.Text-TooltipThe law may also apply to a fully insured ALE whose insurance company will not fulfill the NJ reporting requirements
Dependent Coverage to Age 30 Employers sponsoring fully insured plans in New Jersey that offer dependent coverage.Text-TooltipDependents must meet eligibility requirements to extend coverage
New York (NY)
NY State Paid Family Medical Leave Private employersText-TooltipReligious non-profit organizations are exempt that employ one or more persons who work in New York State on each of 30 days in any calendar year becomes a “covered employer” four weeks after the 30th day of such employment.
NY Wage Theft Prevention Act Private sector employersText-TooltipReligious non-profit organizations are exempt who employ New York residents.
Dependent Coverage to Age 29 Employers sponsoring fully insured plans in New York that offer dependent coverage.Text-TooltipDependents must meet eligibility requirements to extend coverage Note: Two options are available.
Pennsylvania (PA)
Dependent Coverage to Age 29 Employers sponsoring fully insured plans in Pennsylvania that offer dependent coverage.Text-TooltipDependents must meet eligibility requirements to extend coverage Note: Employer’s option to extend coverage.
Rhode Island (RI)
RI Health Coverage Mandate Self-insured employers who sponsor an employment-based health plan that provides minimum essential coverage to at least one RI resident.
RI Temporary Caregiver Insurance Q1 – Q4 Employers that employ one or more employees in the State of Rhode Island (RI).
Washington D.C. (DC)
DC Individual Responsibility Self-insured employers that sponsor an employment-based health plan providing minimum essential coverage and provide coverage to at least one District resident; and fully-insured employers covering at least 50 full-time employees including at least one District resident.
DC Paid Family Leave Q1 – Q4 Employers that pay Unemployment Insurance tax on an employee for a quarter.
Washington (State) (WA)
WA Paid Family Leave Q1 – Q4 Employers of all sizesText-TooltipIncluding non-profits, charities and faith organizations who have an employee that works in Washington, although certain exceptions apply.Text-Tooltip See Exceptions (which may include employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement) on page 5 of Employer Toolkit
WAPAL Fund Assessment Q1 – Q4 Employers and MEWAsText-TooltipMultiple Employer Welfare Arrangements that sponsor self-insured health plans that cover individuals who are Washington residents. This includes out-of-state employers/MEWAs who have Washington residents enrolled in their self-insured health plans.Text-TooltipSelf-insured tribal member-only plans are not subject to the assessment
Vermont
VT Continuation of Coverage Vermont private employers with fewer than 20 employees are subject to Vermont Continuation of Coverage requirements.Text-TooltipNote that it applies to employers not subject to COBRA, which generally applies to employers with 20 or more employees
VT Health Care Fund Contribution Assessment Q1 – Q4 Employers with more than four full-time equivalents (FTEs); and required to withhold Vermont state income tax in any calendar quarter.